Click here to return to the main site.

DVD Review

DVD cover

Volumes 3 and 4


Starring (voice): Houko Kuwashima, Aya Hisakawa, Hana Takeda and Hiroaki Hirata
RRP: £19.99
Certificate: 15
Available 31 August 2009

The aftermath of Clare's first battle with an Awakened Being reveals to her, and her three comrades-in-arms, some shocking truths about the organization she works for. Bonded by their shared experience and precarious circumstances, they return, disillusioned and wary, to their duties. Though warned to avoid contact with the top five Claymores, who might detect her partially Awakened powers, Clare immediately finds herself paired with Number Four, Ophelia. Wounded, separated from Raki and fighting a battle she knows she cannot win, Clare is forced to turn to her past for help...

Claymore is based on the manga by Norihiro Yagi. It is produced by Madhouse Studios and directed by Hiroyuki Tanaka. Claymore: Volumes 3 and 4 features episodes 11-19 of the 26-episode series.

The series centres around a Claymore called Clare who has a painful past and whose path toward vengeance is marked by violence, solitude and scorn. That is until she meets and rescues a young boy, Raki, who helps revive the spirit and compassion of his half-human, half-monster saviour, even as she recalls the fateful events that led to her becoming the thing that many - humans and monsters, alike - have come to fear.

Disc three contains the episodes: Those Who Rend Asunder - Part 3; The Endless Gravestones Part 1 and 2; and To Be Qualified to Fight. The extras on this disc include an interview with Yasunori Honda (sound director) and an episode commentary for episode 11 (Those Who Rend Asunder - Part 3).

Disc three sees Clare learning more about the special powers she has obtained and also Clare and Raki's friendship is more connected, and towards the end of the disc an old character from the time of Teresa comes back and helps out Clare.

Disc four contains the episodes In the Witch's Maw - Part 1-3; and The Carnage in the North - Part 1. Extras include an interview with Manabu Otsuzuki, and also an episode commentary for episode 16 (In the Witch's Maw - Part 3).

Disc four involves more awakened being's as Clare progressively gets stronger and stronger, also after learning a special technique she is faced against another awakened being where she finds herself another friend who is ranked in the single digits. After she leaves from this place she is sent on a assignment which involves over 20 claymores.

In this box set the story really gets going and much more is revealed along with a new companion who is ranked in the single digits and is loyal to Clare. In addition, Clare obtains some new powers which help her in her fight against awakened beings and the friendship between Clare and Raki continues to increase.


Carl Simpson

Buy this item online

We compare prices online so you get the cheapest deal
Click on the logo of the desired store below to purchase this item.

£12.48 (
£12.99 (
£11.99 (
£15.96 (
£13.97 (

All prices correct at time of going to press.