Click here to return to the main site.

DVD Review

DVD cover

Aqua Teen Hunger Force
Volume Two


Starring (voice): Dana Snyder. Carey Means. Dave Willis and Matt Maiellaro
Revolver Entertainment
RRP: £19.99
Certificate: 12
Available 07 December 2009

Follow the adventures of a group of talking fast food items. The team consists of Frylock, the floating French-fried potato holder who is the brains of the group; Meatwad, who is a cute simple-minded ball of shape shifting mince; and Master Shake, a sadistic and lazy milkshake who loves to torture Meatwad. The gang hang out with their neighbour Carl, a pure guy after women and booze...

Aqua Teen Hunger Force is an animated cartoon series that started on the Cartoon Network in December 2000.

Each episode begins at Doctor Weird's laboratory. Here the evil doctor and his assistant, Steve, create new horrors. Unlike the previous volume of the series all links between this and the main programme have been severed. So now Doctor Weird's antics have no repercussions for Frylock, Meatwad and Master Shake.

The episodes collected here are from the very end of the show's first season and part of the second season. However, they're not in their original broadcast order, some episodes are missing and some have totally different titles (for example Super Hero is now entitles Who is the Drizzle?)

Highlights of this 2-disc collection include:

Mail Order Bride: Master Shake and Carl decide to split the cost of a Russian mail order bride as their joint Christmas present. Meanwhile Meatwad can't make up his mind what to ask Santa for.

Who is the Drizzle?: Shake becomes a super hero - only keeping his secret identity from everyone is a bit of a problem.

Super Squatter: Despite numerous reminders from Fry, Shake forgets to pay any of the household bills - instead preferring to watch TV. When everything is cut off Fry is more than a little unhappy.

Super Model: Shake secretly gets himself some cheap plastic surgery by travelling to Guatemala, but after one treatment he becomes addicted and ends up getting a little too much changed.

Meat Zone: Meatwad is able to see the future and Shake tries to exploit his friend's newfound gift.

Extras include audio commentaries on a few episodes; Baffler Meal (12 min, 13 sec look at a new retro designed Space Ghost episode starring the original design for the Aqua Teen Hunger Force team. There's an optional audio commentary - which kind of explains what it's all about); Baffler Meal Music Video (3 min, 11 sec very odd music video); Future Wolf II - Never Cry Wolf: Origin of the Series (6 min, 09 sec spoof documentary on the origins of the Aqua Teen Hunger Force); Future Wolf III (18 min, 53 sec gallery of production designs and behind the scenes images); four deleted scenes; and trailers for other shows.

This is another Adult Swim series that you're going to either love or hate. Those that know the show will relish the chance to own these episodes on DVD. It's just a shame that these weren't presented in their original broadcast order.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

We compare prices online so you get the cheapest deal
Click on the logo of the desired store below to purchase this item.

£11.98 (
£12.99 (
£11.99 (
£12.97 (

All prices correct at time of going to press.