Click here to return to the main site.

DVD Review

DVD cover

Naruto Shippuden
Box Set 12


Starring (voice): Junko Takeuchi, Chie Nakamura and Noriaki Sugiyama
Manga Entertainment
RRP: £24.99
Certificate: 12
Available 18 March 2013

At the Akatsuki hideout, a weakened Sasuke hears the history of the Uchiha Clan from Madara and learns of Itachi's true intentions. Meanwhile Kakashi and Naruto having lost the trail must abandon their mission to capture Itachi and find Sasuke. The team is heading back to the village when an urgent assignment come in from Tsunade that will lead them on a perilous journey to protect a young woman...

This box set contains episodes 141-153 (which represent the last three episodes of the show's sixth season, all eight episodes of season seven and the first two episodes from season eight) these were originally broadcast in Japan between December 2009 and April 2010.

Disc one contains: Truth; Battle of Unraikyo; The Eight-Tails vs. Sasuke; Wanderer; Successor of the Forbidden Jutsu; The Successor's Wish; and Rogue Ninja's Past.

Disc two includes: Heir to Darkness; Separation; The Forbidden Jutsu Released; Master and Student; Somber News and Following the Master's Shadow.

There are a number of main stories that are explored here. The first sees Madara explaining to Sasuke that his older brother, Itachi, was a spy whose job it was was to gather intel on the Uchiha. But we learn that his intentions were for the greater good - and that the end result was designed to stop a war. This neatly dovetails into Naruto and co., searching for Sasuke.

Season seven opens with a ninja, Utakata, and a girl, Hotaru, under attack by a mysterious team of ninjas. Help is on the way from the Hidden Leaf Village in the form of Team 7 and Yamato. They soon discover that Hotaru hides a secret that explains why she is the target of the ninjas attack.

The two season eight episodes see Naruto being informed that his mentor Jiraiya (better known as Pervy Sage), has been killed in battle. But he's left a strange code behind him that no one can seem to crack.

It appears we are only being sent out even numbered volumes for review - after missing volumes 9 and 11 - which makes it difficult to follow the story. Thankfully, the main story arc here is a complete season and has an opening and conclusion.

The collection neatly moves the story along and will be welcomed by fans of the series.

Extras include Production Art and Trailers.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

We compare prices online so you get the cheapest deal
Click on the logo of the desired store below to purchase this item.

£17.75 (
£17.66 (

All prices correct at time of going to press.