Seven Soldiers of Victory
Volume Two

Author: Grant Morrison
Artists: Various
Titan Books
RRP 8.99
ISBN 1 84576 237 1
Available 26 May 2006

Seven Soldiers is an epic tale of life, death, triumph and redemption that explores the nature of heroism and sacrifice. This second of four volumes features the exploits of four of the seven soldiers: the Shining Knight, the Guardian, Zatanna, and Klarion the Witchboy. Independently, these characters are featured in a story arc that redefines their purpose in the DC Universe. But their stories also interweave and tell a grander story of a devastating global threat to mankind. Together these reluctant champions must somehow work together to save the world... without ever meeting one another...

Volume Two of Seven Soldiers of Victory sees the story continue where Volume One left off. In fact, we've still not been introduced to all seven soldiers - just the four we already know from Volume One. As I mentioned before, I love the fact that the author, the great Grant Morrison, is taking his time with this series - slowly introducing several of the soldiers and letting us really get to know them before bringing in the rest of the team.

Things are very slowly starting to slot into place as we learn a little more about why seven soldiers are required, and why they must never know of each other's existence.

I particularly loved the Newsboy Army segment of this collection - where we take a trip down memory lane to see how things were before the Guardian was the core news collector and vigilante for the Manhattan Guardian.

You'll have a problem delving straight into this collection, and are strongly advised to pick up the first volume before you start here. It's well worth your time and money though.

Pete Boomer

Buy this item online
We compare prices online so you get the cheapest deal! Click on the logo of the desired store below to purchase this item.

£7.19 (
£7.28 (
£8.99 (

All prices correct at time of going to press.