Star Wars
Book 1 - Broken

Author: John Ostrander and Jan Duursema
Artist: Jan Duursema
Titan Books
RRP: 14.99, US $17.95
ISBN-13: 978 1 84576 461 6
ISBN-10: 1 84576 461 7
Available 27 July 2007

More than one hundred years have passed since the events in
Return of the Jedi and the days of the New Jedi Order. There is a new evil gripping the galaxy, shattering a resurgent Empire and seeking to destroy the last of the Jedi. Even as their power is failing, the Jedi hold on to one final hope... the last remaining heir to the Skywalker legacy...

Broken is the first volume in the Star Wars: Legacy series which maps out the future of the entire Star Wars universe. It could be that I'm getting old and a little cynical, but I didn't really warm to this series on the first read through.

130 years after the Battle of Yavin saw the destruction of the first Death Star, much has changed. The invasion of the extragalactic Yuuzhan Vong saw the fall of the Republic and the rise of a new Galactic Alliance, under a benign Emperor. But on Korriban, the Sith have rebuilt under the leadership of Darth Krayt.

Now, Krayt's forces have destroyed the Jedi Academy on Ossus, and the Empire once again falls under Sith leadership. But one lone Jedi child survives, and seven years later, has become a feared bounty hunter. His name? Cade Skywalker!

As I mentioned earlier, I didn't really enjoy this collection on the first read through. However, giving it another chance, I reread this release. It's certainly better the second time around, but I wonder how many Star Wars fans will give this collection a second read through.

While it's not the best start to a series - there's just enough here to whet your appetite for future instalments - there is action aplenty. This, at the very least, will no doubt pull in younger fans who actually enjoyed the new movie trilogy.

Pete Boomer

Buy this item online
We compare prices online so you get the cheapest deal! Click on the logo of the desired store below to purchase this item.

£8.98 (
£11.24 (
£14.99 (
£8.63 (
£11.49 (
$12.21 (

All prices correct at time of going to press.