Avril Lavigne's Make 5 Wishes
Volume 1

Authors: Camilla d'Errico and Joshua Dysart
Artist: Camilla d'Errico
Titan Books
RRP: 6.99
ISBN-13: 978 1 84576 683 2
ISBN-10: 1 84576 683 0
Available 28 September 2007

Hana's life isn't going the way she wants; ignored by her schoolmates, caught between her fighting parents, and generally feeling lost, her only fun is pretending to be someone else, and her only, imaginary friend is Avril Lavigne. But when she places an order at a website called '', and a strange, demonic creature arrives promising to make five wishes come true, is Hana's life starting to change?...

Make 5 Wishes is an interesting tale about one young girl's wish to fit in in a world that is alien to her - so every teenager's world really. Ignored by her schoolmates and caught between fighting parents, Hana spends her time pretending to be other people online, and daydreaming of being friends with rebel-rocker Avril Lavigne.

After placing an order at a mysterious website, a strange demonic creature arrives promising to grant Hana five wishes, and Hana hopes she might change things for the better; but her wish-granting friend soon starts to seem more and more unfriendly, as Hana's wishes begin to come true in the worst of ways.

This two-volume collection could really have (and should have to be honest) been condensed into one larger book. The story is hardly original, but the twist of roping in Avril Lavigne is certainly designed to appeal to her legions of fans.

I find it a bit of a cheek that this release is being marketed as "Avril Lavigne's Make 5 Wishes" when it's obvious that the only input she's had is allowing her name and likeness to be used in the story. In truth it could be just about any popstar, or film star that a girl of school age could be into. Unfortunately this means that it will probably put non-Lavigne fans off purchasing it - which is a shame because this is a great little tale.

If you want a taster then simply head over to to check out the story. This website is currently running the story in webisodes which reprint almost all of the original illustrations with speech bubbles and background music by Lavigne.

Nick Smithson

Buy this item online
We compare prices online so you get the cheapest deal! Click on the logo of the desired store below to purchase this item.

£4.19 (
£5.94 (
£6.99 (
£4.82 (

All prices correct at time of going to press.