Click here to return to the main site.

DVD Review

Ergo Proxy
Volume 6 - Deus Ex Machina


Starring (voice): Akiko Yajima, Kouji Yusa and Rie Saitou
RRP: £15.99
Certificate: 15
Available 09 June 2008

Re-l, Vincent and Pino are back on Romdo to face off against the machinations set in motion by the Creator. Vincent must come to grips with who he is and what he wants to become while Re-l faces the ugly truth behind her own existence. Can these two travelers finish their journey of discovery and enlightenment or will they succumb to the malice implanted by the Creator?...

And so we come to the final volume of Ergo Proxy, the futuristic, science-fiction suspense thriller with gothic cyberpunk undertones. Directed by Shuko Murase (Witch Hunter ROBIN, Samurai Champloo) and scripted by Dai Sato (Samurai Champloo, Casshern, Ghost In The Shell: Stand Alone Complex, Cowboy Bebop).

Volume six contains the last three episode 21-23 (Shampoo Planet, Bilbul and Deus Ex Machina). Here Pino finds that she is alone as Re-l and Vincent enter Romdo - they've been a long time and Pino is getting bored.

Meanwhile, in Romdo the city's population is declining, but who is responsible? Re-l must face the truth about her existence, and her purpose - as must Vincent and Pino.

To be honest the ending feels a bit of a let down. Fans may feel a little cheated by the rather forced conclusion - but then with a title like Deus Ex Machina for the final episode I suppose we shouldn't be too surprised.

I was a little disappointed that there were no extras on this release, apart from a couple of trailers. Audio options include English DTS or 5.1 and Japanese 5.1 with optional English subtitles.

Sadly this is a bit of a damp squip. On reflection, the series had an incredibly promising start and slowly spiralled down hill - which is a shame because I still believe this could have been a lot better than what we ended up with.


Darren Rea

Buy this item online

We compare prices online so you get the cheapest deal
Click on the logo of the desired store below to purchase this item.

£11.99 (
£11.99 (
£9.99 (
£12.97 (
£10.79 (
£11.93 (

All prices correct at time of going to press.