Click here to return to the main site.

DVD Review

DVD cover

Buso Renkin
Volume 2


Starring (voice): Jun Fukuyama, Ryoka Yuzuki, Aya Hirano and Hitomi Nabatame
Manga Entertainment
RRP: £24.99
Certificate: 12
Available 06 October 2008

Teenager Kazuki Muto believes he has experienced his own death when he tries to protect a young girl who is being attacked by a monster. When he awakes the following morning he thinks it was all a dream. But the girl, the monster, and his death are all real. To revive Kazuki, Tokiko replaces his heart with a "kakugane," an alchemic device that allows him to summon a lance with which to fight the monsters. It turns out that Tokiko is a member of Renkin Kenshi (Alchemist Soldiers), an organisation sworn to protect the world from monsters...

Buso Renkin is based on the popular manga series written and illustrated by Nobuhiro Watsuki. Volume Two of the anime series is released as a three-disc edition containing the final 13 episodes of this 26-episode series.

This series is an action-packed fantasy story that centres around a young high school student, Kazuki Muto, who finds himself smack bang in the middle of a war between strange creatures.

Trouble is brewing at Kazui's high school as everyone finds their energy being drained. Meanwhile Kazuki finds himself facing a new nemesis in the form of Victor. Faced with such a formidable opponent Kazuki resumes his training once more with Captain Bravo. However, Kazuki finds himself undergoing a strange transformation to the point that he begins to resemble Victor. What does this all mean and how will Kazuki overcome it? Kazuki and Tokiko must make some tough choices as the final battle draws closer with each passing moment.

Extras include Behind the Scenes of Buso Renkin (25 min interview with several of the American voice artists) and a collection of trailers for other releases.

An interesting conclusion to a well paced series.


Nick Smithson

Buy this item online

We compare prices online so you get the cheapest deal
Click on the logo of the desired store below to purchase this item.

£14.98 (
£14.99 (
£19.00 (
£14.99 (
£19.99 (
£21.24 (
£17.97 (

All prices correct at time of going to press.