V: The Complete Series
(Region 1 edition)

Starring: Marc Singer, Jane Badler and Michael Ironside
Warner Brothers
RRP: $39.98
Certificate: Not Rated
Available 27 July 2004

They arrived in 15 mother ships, offering their friendship and advanced technology to Earth. Sceptical of the visitors, Mike Donovan and Julie Parish (members of the World Resistance Fighters) infiltrated their ranks and soon discovered the startling secret that they had in actual fact come to Earth for food and water. We were their food!...

As seen in the hit miniseries V and V: The Final Battle, humanity bravely resisted a struggle yet the war continues. Once again Earth is the main battleground for the war but the objective has changed. They now believe that the secret to their survival on Earth lies in the DNA of the newly born half-human, half-spaceling Star child, Elizabeth. They intend to capture her. But that's something the World's Resistance Fighters cannot allow.

This 3 disc, 19 episode box set comes to us complete and uncut. It takes us on a rollercoaster ride of metamorphosis, holographic ruses, force fields, hostage taking, cloning, allegations of treason and mind control. These are but a few of the storylines.

Only being old enough to vaguely remember this series when first shown on TV I was somewhat apprehensive about seeing it again. 20 years on from its first release this series is still very enjoyable. Okay, so there are big perms, tight trousers, clumsy looking computers and some quite hilarious fight scenes (where no-one seems to have a good aim) which point this right at the eighties. But the ideas of this series were way ahead of its time.

Even the special effects have been able to stand the test of time. Although they are nothing like what are used now, in its day these would have been fantastic, what with laser guns and alien masks.

Unfortunately, there are no special features to come with this box set which is a real shame. A behind the scenes featurette or interviews with the actors would have been really entertaining.

Whether you can remember this from the first time round or not, you really should go out and buy it. You will find yourself not knowing who to trust and just when you think you were right about someone everything will all change and you'll realise that you really didn't have a clue.

This is a very clever and entertaining series that is really worth adding to your DVD collection.

Helena Rea

Buy this item online
We compare prices online so you get the cheapest deal!
Click on the logo of the desired store below to purchase this item.

$29.99 (Amazon.com)
£19.99 (Amazon.co.uk)

All prices correct at time of going to press.