Sonic X
Volume 1

Starring (voice): Jason Griffith, Suzanne Goldish and Rebecca Honig
Warner Home Video

RRP: 5.99

D 088399
Certificate: U
Available 29 August 2005

Sonic, the dashing blue speedster is a master of rapid response. He uses his quick wit and fast feet to save his friends from the venomous villain Dr Eggman. So step it up and join Sonic as he battles against his nemesis who is on a mission to collect the seven legendary Chaos Emeralds, establish the "Eggman Empire" and then take over the world...

Volume 1 of Sonic X contains the episodes Superhero Sonic Appears! and Infiltrate Area 99.

In Superhero Sonic Appears! Sonic tries to stop Eggman from using the seven Chaos Emeralds but he accidentally ends up transporting everyone to another world... known to it's inhabitants as Earth.

In Infiltrate Area 99, Sonic is rescued by a human boy called Chris. Chris's Grandfather, Chuck, is also introduced to Sonic. A news bulletin shows Sonic's friends, Cream and Cheese, being taken to a secret military base called Area 99. Sonic must rescue his friends before they are used for experiments.

The animation for this series is nothing spectacular, but does the trick. The main theme is funky and very catchy, but what's really scary is the closing titles. I'm a relatively sluggish 30-something who was itching to get up and bounce around to the music - so goodness only knows what hyperactive kids will make of it.

This DVD range really is excellent value for money - although, Warner could have put four episodes onto each disc and charged £14.99 and they would still have represented excellent value for money.

While this first volume is a little slow to get going, Sonic fans will not be disappointed.

Amber Leigh

Buy this item online
We compare prices online so you get the cheapest deal!
Click on the logo of the desired store below to purchase this item.

£5.99 (Amazon.co.uk)
£5.99 (Blahdvd.com)
£5.98 (Foxy.co.uk)
£6.89 (Thehut.com)
£5.99 (Moviemail-online.co.uk)

All prices correct at time of going to press.